Real Relief for Cold Season

Lemon and Fresh Ginger

Lemon and Fresh Ginger

If anyone in my house gets a little stuffy-headed, or runny-nosed, or is getting a bit of a sore throat, I start chopping fresh ginger and slicing lemons.  I add them to several cups of water on the stove, bring to a boil, and simmer whenever we’re at home.  As much as my girls dislike this next part, I urge them to lean over the pot, preferably with a towel tented over the back of their head (which they really love) and breathe in the steam.  I actually love doing this, because I can feel it opening my nasal passages and loosening (hope you don’t mind the visual) what’s stuck up there.  And my clients rave about the effects too.  If you can set up a hot plate next to your desk at work, keep this brew next to you all day.  Just keep adding water as it evaporates, and more ginger and lemon as the aroma fades. It’s a strong elixir and will give any head cold a run for its money.  Try it.  You’ll be so glad you did.

Mandy Meyer-Hill

NYS Licensed Massage Therapist

Stairway Healing Arts Center

1 Washington Street
Cambridge, NY  12816
518-265-7889
StairwayHealingArts@gmail.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Real Relief for Cold Season

Leave a Reply

