Hope v. Optimism

Last week.

Last week.

Hope is definitely not the same thing as optimism. It is not the conviction that something will turn out well, but the certainty that something makes sense, regardless of how it turns out.

Vaclav Havel

When I was going through tough times, I kept this quote taped to a cupboard door, above my computer screen, and in my wallet.  It was my reminder that success didn’t necessarily mean shiny bright outcomes.  It was my reminder that if I was convicted and/or committed to some thing, some one, or some situation (and felt good about it) then I just needed to dedicate myself to it; give it my best.  I could set aside my fears of things not working out.  Sometimes they don’t.  But that doesn’t mean I’ve failed.  Putting one foot in front of the other and continuing on because I believe in what I’m doing is the important thing.  Hope.  Believe.  Keep going.

5 thoughts on “Hope v. Optimism

Leave a Reply

