Please Have a Seat

via Pinterest Princess Sassy Pants & Co. by JaneLeeLogan

via Pinterest
Princess Sassy Pants & Co.
by JaneLeeLogan

 

When you come in for your massage, the first thing I ask you to do is have a seat.  I have a big comfy couch, a big cozy chair, and a sturdy wooden chair with strong arms (which is essential if you have trouble getting in or out of a chair for any reason).  And we talk.  Well, you talk.  I listen, and ask some questions.  Every massage begins with a conversation.  This conversation might be brief.  You might simply tell me what’s going on in your body, where you’re experiencing pain or discomfort.  We’ll look at what might have triggered this problem and discuss some preventive measures to avoid this pain in the future.  I use this information to map out your massage and determine what areas of your body are going to need the most attention.

But this conversation often leads to much more.  This might be a time for you to unload the stresses of the day, or the week.  You might just find yourself talking about the problem you’re having with your son, or your sister, or your boss.  Maybe you’ll share your excitement about an upcoming trip to Peru.  Perhaps you’ll tell me you’re dreaming about running your first 5K.  When you walk through the door,   I never know what you’re carrying with you physically, mentally, or emotionally.  But this is my time to find out.  I need to reassure you that whatever you tell me, you are most certainly NOT complaining, even though it may feel that way to you. It’s important for me to learn about the stresses in your life, both good and bad, so that I can support you through the body work you are about to receive.  I’m going to discover where your body holds these stresses by way of muscular tension, adhesions, and trigger points.  Because our bodies don’t just hold physical pain and injuries.  We hold emotional stress and pain in our muscles and viscera also.  So again, I’m going to map out your session in my mind.  And I’ll get a sense of the energy work that I’m going to mix in to your session as well.

Each conversation closes with a question:  What are your needs today?  This is your time to tell me what you want and need from your massage therapy session.  Again, I’m listening and fine tuning my mental map of your session.  Because this is your time, and it’s your massage.  And when you leave my studio, you’re going to feel so much better.

6 thoughts on “Please Have a Seat

  1. I have been trying to find “you” for years, unfortunately, we are many states away from each other. My previous massage therapist retired several years ago and I have been searching ever since to find someone as caring and healing. I have tried so many places and even signed up for the monthly massage package at a “massage assembly line” just so I will get a massage every month. It isn’t nearly as healing and satisfying but it is still good to get the touch. Would you, or anyone you know, know of anyone in the Minneapolis area who may practice a similar type of massage as you?

    • Thanks so much for your comment, Terri. I’m sorry that I don’t know any colleagues in the Minneapolis area. Word of mouth is the most reliable source. Perhaps your former MT could recommend someone. Have you asked your friends and co-workers who they see for massage? (I imagine you have.) You could also check with the American Massage Therapy Association (amtamassage.org). They have a “Find a Massage Therapist in Your Location” button, along with a series of questions to ask on your inquiry call. Good luck and please keep me posted on your success. And thanks for reading my blog!

  2. I love reading about the conversation and how it informs your work. I often did wonder why we talked before your massages, but now I understand more and I value it more. Thank you for inside look into how you work!

    • So important! And please ask away ANY time you’re wondering about something or have any questions around your massage, Athena. Thanks so much! Hope Seattle us being wonderful to you.

Leave a Reply

