In Solidarity

140921-climate-march-nyc-1p_c9fa80631113d7e66fd9d3d46e3527c3-nbcnews-ux-2880-1000

Photo from NBC News

 

“We stand together in solidarity with our partners and children for the protection of our rights, our safety, our health, and our families – recognizing that our vibrant and diverse communities are the strength of our country.”

-Women’s March on Washington Mission & Vision

 

I was in NYC during the march. Our hotel just a couple blocks from Trump Towers. The bus  to the city on Friday simmered with energy and bright eyes. Strangers striking up conversation. We were moving in synch, with a common purpose.

Going to the March.

Except that I wasn’t going to be marching. I wanted to. I believe strongly in the mission of the March. I believe in the power of the voice of the masses, standing together, standing strong, uniting in peace.

I was going to New York with my daughter for college interviews. While I wouldn’t be present for the interviews, I needed to be near her. Available. She had to be my first priority.

While I longed to share my voice with the masses, while I longed to stand among my fellow women (and men, and children) and chant for our rights, our safety, our health, our families, I needed to be on the other side of the Park, separate from the crowd.

But I knew I could be a part of the March, from a distance.

So while my daughter was interviewing, I stole away from the college and found a dry bench in Central Park, among the Saturday runners and dog walkers. I sat with the sun on my face, my bag between my knees. I lowered my gaze, breathed deeply, and began to meditate. I sent my energy to the masses and to the cause.

My participation was quiet. I wasn’t bouncing off a multitude of emboldened bodies. I wasn’t raising my voice together with them. But I was participating.

In solidarity.

One thought on “In Solidarity

  1. The vibes were strong and positive in the midst of that crowd of souls on Fifth Avenue. The spirit you tasted in the subway of commonality and respect was multiplied in the multitude. Very very uplifting.

Leave a Reply

